Nelson Piquet Jr. scoops top qualifying spot at Lydden Hill

Nelson Piquet Jr. ended qualifying for the third round of the 2019 TitansRX season at Lydden Hill in the top spot after dominating two of the three rounds.

The Brazilian won both of his Q1 and Q2 heats, setting the fastest overall time in the process, before he took third on the road and fourth in the timing charts in Q3.

Topi Heikkinen was second overall after claiming heat wins in Q2 and Q3. He finished on the same points tally as Piquet, but with his wins coming later in the day he had to settle for the runner-up spot.

Timmy Hansen dominated his opening heat but suffered an of in Q2 – he was third overall, ahead of his brother Kevin Hansen who faced his own share of challenges on track too, despite winning two of his three heats. The youngster had heavy contact with Jerome Grosset-Janin in the second round of qualifying which left him with a puncture and lapping well off the pace.

Ronny C’Rock enjoyed a strong morning to complete the top-five, ahead of Andrew Jordan and Tamara Molinaro. ‚CsuCsu‘ was eighth, one position ahead of Oliver Webb who despite never racing in rallycross before showed strong pace throughout qualifying.

The sports car regular jumped the start in his Q1 race and spun in Q2, but finished on par with the field both times. In Q3 he fought his way past Andreas Steffen to challenge ‚CsuCsu‘ for the race lead, eventually settling for second.

In the final transfers spots were Grosset-Janin, and wildcard drivers Abbie Eaton and Dan Rooke All three finished qualifying on 119 points, eight clear of the Steffen who was the first driver to not make it through to the semi-finals.

Joining the German on the sidelines will be Reini Sampl and Perry McCarthy, who showed strong pace, particularly on the starts, but struggled to find consistency over the course of each of his heat races.


TitansRX round three qualifying results


1. Nelson Piquet Jr. P1/P1/P4
2. Topi Heikkinen P7/P2/P2
3. Timmy Hansen P3/P3/P3
4. Kevin Hansen P2/P14/P1
5. Ronny C’Rock P11/P6/P5
6. Andrew Jordan P4/P4/P11
7. Tamara Molinaro P6/P9/P8
8. ‚CsuCsu‘ P10/P15/P6
9. Oliver Webb P9/P12/P7
10. Jerome G-J P5/P5/P14
11. Abbie Eaton P12/P7/P10
12. Dan Rooke P8/P8/P13
Eliminated after Q3:
13. Andreas Steffen P13/P10/P9
14. Reini Sampl DNF/P13/P12
15. Perry McCarthy P14/P11/DNF

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert