Topi Heikkinen reigns supreme at Lydden Hill

Topi Heikkinen claimed his second win of the 2019 TitansRX season by dominating the final of round three at Lydden Hill.

The championship leader lead from the start and eked out a 2.4 second lead by the end of the race which took place in torrential conditions.

Timmy Hansen, who like Heikkinen won last time out in Essay, scored a comfortable second place, while Kevin Hansen finished third after a race-long battle with wildcard driver Oliver Webb.

The rallycross rookie made a strong start from the second row of the grid and mounted a challenge for the lead round the outside of Pilgrims. However, he lost traction going into Chessons Drift and dropped back down to fourth.

Webb attempted to pass Hansen at Devils Elbow for the next three laps, and made light contact with the Swede at the start of the final lap but couldn’t find a way past.

Fellow wildcard driver Dan Rooke finished fifth while Tamara Molinaro, competing in her first final of the season, finished sixth.

After dominating qualifying Nelson Piquet was forced to miss the final after crashing out of the lead during his semi-final race. Heading into Devil’s Elbow with his vision obscured by spray, Piquet’s car made contact with a puddle and aquaplaned off the road into the tyre barrier. The shunt brought out a red flag, and halted proceedings for quite some time.

Contact for Abbie Eaton in the same race stopped her from advancing as well, and in an incident similar to Piquet’s, Ronny C’Rock also crashed out.

In the second semi-final Andrew Jordan failed to make the grid, with his place being filled by Andreas Steffen, while Jerome Grosset-Janin struggled with engine issues throughout the race keeping him out of the advancement positions.


TitansRX round three final results

1. Topi Heikkinen 03:51.888
2. Timmy Hansen 03:54.312
3. Kevin Hansen 03:55.411
4. Oliver Webb 03:55.830
5. Dan Rooke 04:01.440
6. Tamara Molinaro 04:23.431


Series standings after round three

1. Topi Heikkinen 70
2. Kevin Hansen 64
3. Timmy Hansen 59
4. Jerome Grosset-Janin 44
5. Ronny C’Rock 36
6. Hayden Paddon 30
7. Tamara Molinaro 30
8. Andreas Steffen 26
9. ‚CsuCsu‘ 25
10. Oliver Webb 18
11. Reini Sampl 18
12. Nelson Piquet Jr. 18
13. Dan Rooke 16
14. Craig Breen 14
15. Antoine Masse 10
16. Abbie Eaton 4
17. Andrew Jordan 3
17. Perry McCarthy 1


Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert