Kevin Hansen goes back-to-back in Montalegre

Kevin Hansen became the first back-to-back winner in TitansRX history by leading the round five final from start to finish.

The points leader made a good start to lead polesitter Topi Heikkinen from the start, but the top qualifier kept the pressure on for much of the race.

Heikkinen kept the pressure on Kevin Hansen at the front, while initially also resisting pressure from Andrew Jordan behind. On lap six of seven however, Heikkinen’s charge for the race lead came undone after he hit Hansen at the first corner.

The incident briefly sent Heikkinen airborne and allowed Jordan to pass, while Timmy Hansen would also find his way by later on in the lap, putting him out of podium contention.

Although Jordan was moved up to second, the final lap didn’t give him enough of an opportunity to mount a challenge for the race victory and he crossed the line just under eight tenths of a second behind Kevin hansen.

Timmy Hansen finished third, just under a second behind Jordan, while Heikkinen held on to take fourth, ahead of Craig Breen.

Local wildcard driver Ivan Ares was the sixth runner in the final but his race ended on the second lap due to electrical issues.

Missing on out the final from the first semi-final was Oliver Webb, who finished a close fourth, ahead of Jerome Grosset-Janin. Portuguese wildcard driver Armindo Araujo was the other driver who didn’t advance after he stalled on the starting grid. He did manage to catch the field by the end of the race, but couldn’t make any passes to advance into the main event.

In semi-final two, ‚CsuCsu‘, Ronny C’Rock, and Reini Sampl all missed out after Breen, who jumped the start, recovered from a penalty lap to make more passes in one race than any other driver over the weekend, securing his place in the final.


TitansRX round five final results

1. Kevin Hansen 04:46.536
2. Andrew Jordan 04:47.291
3. Timmy Hansen 04:48.211
4. Topi Heikkinen 04:48.523
5. Craig Breen 04:49.276
6. Ivan Ares DNF

Leave a Reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert